Paul Harris Fellows Banner

Paul Harris Fellows

The Paul Harris Fellow recognition acknowledges individuals who contribute, or who have contributions made in their name, of $1,000 US to The Rotary Foundation of Rotary International.
It was established in 1957 to show appreciation for and encourage substantial contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only program, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships. 

Early Paul Harris Fellows received a certificate of recognition. In 1969, the Foundation unveiled the first Paul Harris Fellow medallion at the RI Convention in Honolulu, Hawaii, USA. Japanese metal artist Fiju Tsuda created the piece under the direction of then-past Foundation Trustee Kyozo Yuasa. 
Today, Paul Harris Fellows receive a certificate and pin. They are also eligible to purchase a Paul Harris Fellow medallion. 
Rotarians have a tradition of supporting the Foundation by honoring others. Ida LeTulle Taylor became a Paul Harris Fellow in 1978 when her husband, then District Governor Vann Taylor, made a donation in her name in honor of their 34th wedding anniversary. The gift also made her the 25,000th Paul Harris Fellow. 

At the International Assembly in 1979, then RI President-elect James Bomar challenged each Rotary club to make one non-Rotarian a Paul Harris Fellow. The Rotary Club of Pikesville, Maryland, USA, responded by making a donation in the name of Mother Teresa in 1980. The entertainer Pearl Bailey also became a Paul Harris Fellow through a joint effort of the Rotary clubs in Cape Cod, Massachusetts.  

Many other notable figures have been named as Paul Harris Fellows, including U.S. President Jimmy Carter, Russian President Boris Yeltsin, U.S. astronaut James Lovell, UN Secretary-General Javier Perez de Cuellar and Jonas Salk.  
The number of Paul Harris Fellows reached the one million mark in 2006. 

When $1000 US is contributed to The Rotary Foundation, a request can be made for an individual to be recognized as a Paul Harris Fellow; that person can be a Rotarian or a member of the community who is not a Rotarian.

The contribution to The Rotary Foundation can be made in one sum or by cumulative giving over a number of years.
Individuals can make a personal contribution or the contribution can be from a club, a company or business.


  Name Year
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Kelly Isfan 2019
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold B. Wally Anderson 2019
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold C. Richard Campbell 2018
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Lisa Marr 2018
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Cherie Szucs 2018
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Stephen Smith 2015
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Garry McMillan 2014
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Jeff Scott 2013


Ron Judd

Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Bob Hill 2013
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold David King 2012, 2008
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Bill Jappy 2012


Robert (Bob) Perks 2009


Jean Kerr 2009
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Paul McGoveran 2009
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Hadley Jackson 2009
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Dolf Wynia  2008
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Robert (Bob) Stevenson 2008, 2017, 2020
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Tom O'Neill 2008, 2017
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Dr. John Thorpe 2007
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Larry Kormos  2007, 2019
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold David Ferris 2007
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Dan Hill 2007
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Angus McLeod 2006
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Leighton Peach 2006
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold F. Albert Madill 2006, 2018, 2019
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Nigel Birnie 2006
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Dr. Margaret (Marg) Santo-Dodd 2005
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Tom Pidduck 2003
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Dr. Samithra (Sumi) Perris 2002
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold John Featherstone 2001
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Wayne Green 2001
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Craig Hunter 2001


  Name Year
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Wayne Campbell 2000
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Rev. John Cruickshank 2000
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Michael (Mike) Cobb 2000

Gary Ireland 2000
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Pam Shantz 1999
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Betty Smith 1999
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Bob Winch 1999
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Arthur Loughton 1998
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Alisa Green 1998
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Robert (Bob) Jackson 1998
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Russ Chard 1998
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold G. Douglas (Doug) Vallee 1997
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Dr. D. Keith Sutherland 1997, 2019
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Harold Shantz 1997
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold George A. Renshaw 1997
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Hazel Race 1997
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold John Race 1997
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Chris L. Lee 1997
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Dr. Ernie Kerr 1997
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold G. Harley Clark 1997
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold John R. Wallace 1996
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Kenneth (Ken) G. Smith 1996
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Thomas A. Cline 1996
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Yoshihiro Tagari 1995
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold John B. Dodd 1995
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold G. Alvin (Al) Robinson 1995
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold J. Douglas Sheppard 1995
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold James C. B. Jackson 1994
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Arthur W. Batty 1994
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold William A. Hoskins 1993
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold G. Jay McKiee 1993
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold John A. Ellis 1993


  Name Year
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Roy G. Williamson 1992
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold J. Bart Jackson 1992
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Brock B. Smith 1992
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Dr. Sie-Chin Cow 1992
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Rev. Stanley (Stan) Cox 1992
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Ivy D. Kallie 1991
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Dr. Raymond N. Kallie 1991
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Ernest (Ted) E. Westcott 1990
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Dr. Eric Hoskins  1990
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Harold Cowie 1989
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Dr. Alexander Grant 1988
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Dr. Louis Grant 1988
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Dr. Kenneth R. McGavin 1988
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold B. Wallace (Wally) Anderson 1987
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Elmo Riddle 1985
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold Dr. Keith M. McIntosh 1982
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold W. Douglas Staulker 1981
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold David (Ben) H. Gilbertson 1979
Paul_Harris_Fellow_Icon_Gold John B. Irving 1975
Paul Harris Portraits